Teaching vs Parenting

Its been a long time since I last posted and thats due to a number of things. Mainly that I am back at work teaching. I’m only doing two days a week but with Ofsted looming on top of the usual stress of marking, reports, planning and parents’ evenings, I just can’t give it enough effort (especially when the night before you’ve been woken several times by the little people shouting for a tissue or their dummy every hour).

At home things have settled, until one or both children become ill. And the worst scenario is when all three of us are unwell, that’s when daddy or nanny has to step in. But aside from the expected childhood illnesses, we have some other special considerations. Lil Princess is due her second operation on her tongue and Lil Man will be having his heart operation sometime from next year.

With all these factors in mind, I decided to leave the teaching profession (at least for the time being). Fortunately, I found some tutoring work to keep my hand in things but just a few hours a week.

I want to make the most of my time with the children while they are young and growing and developing at such a fast rate.

It was not long ago a young mum/teacher shared her resignation letter which went viral. It certainly struck a chord with me, particularly the comment about how she felt she was putting other children before her own.

IMG_20160124_142553
We can focus on educating our own children (My husband and our daughter)

I love working with children of all ages. I shall certainly miss being in a classroom environment. Unfortunately teaching has evolved so much that now the classroom element is the smallest part of the job. This is not why I got into teaching.

Now I can look forward to the next chapter in my life and use my skills from the classroom to shape and develop my own children.

What’s your opinion on the education system now? As a parent or a teacher.

2 comments

  1. I think you’re going to be a great loss to the school and pupils where you’re currently teaching, I know you’re a brilliant teacher/mother and I’m so pleased that you’re still going to be using your professional skills to encourage the children you’ll be tutoring at The Kip Magrath centre. So proud of you darling, keep up the good work. Top of the Class!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

