What is Involved in a Naming Day?

As we are not religious, I didn’t feel comfortable having the children Christened. And besides, neither my husband or I are Christened ourselves, so we couldn’t even if we wanted to.

However, I didn’t want my children to be left out of a celebration and hoped that when they were older would appreciate that they still had a special day.

So when my son was 3 months old we decided on a Naming Ceremony. To be honest, I didn’t have a clue what was involved as we had never attended a Naming Ceremony before.

Papa giving his speech
Papa giving his speech

You can make it very formal and official and hire a registrar to do the honours, but we decided to do it ourselves. This is another thing that I loved about a Naming Day, was how personal you could make it. For my son’s we hired a hall that had a bar, buffet, had a cake made and decorations. It was very much like a wedding.

All the family were involved
All the family were involved

Our guests were seated for a small ceremony, which involved readings from Grandparents, speeches for my husband and I, and his Auntie putting on his engraved bracelet.

 

 

Daddy and his Lil Man all suited up
Daddy and his Lil Man all suited up

When it came to organising my daughter’s Naming Day, I was just going to do the same thing. But my husband suggested something a less formal and more relaxed. This time, we had the advantage of a bigger house with a larger garden. So we thought we would make the most of this.

 

 

 

DSC_0493Only this time, we had half the number of guests. This didn’t make it any less special or enjoyable though. It was just different. No formalities, just a few words of thanks from me. Lots of food, lots to drink and plenty of sunshine. Everyone said how much they enjoyed themselves, including Lil Man.

 

To make it special, I tried to go all out with the decorations and food.

My mum made some fresh flower bouquets too
My mum made some fresh flower bouquets too

 

Making a lot of things myself, such as the candle holders, some bouquets and mini burgers with sweet potato fries. They went down a treat.

Food and flowers for the special day
Food and flowers for the special day

At my son’s day we had a guest book to sign, but as there were less people for my little girl’s I thought it would be nice to peg up messages, so people could read them throughout the day.IMG_20150801_192506

Overall, I enjoyed both of my children’s Naming Days. I suppose having a smaller one does mean you can relax more and take it all in. But I also liked how my son’s felt like a proper ceremony.

IMG_20150801_134707

Have you had a Naming Day for your children? What did you do and would you have done anything different?

MaternityMondays
My Random Musings
Flour Me With Love
Twinkly Tuesday Linky
Reflections From Me
Modern Dad Pages

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

11 comments

  1. A lovely idea! We’re not religious so toyed with the idea of a naming ceremony but decided to wait and have a big bash for my girl’s 1st birthday instead. It was nice that she was a bit older so she could toddle around and enjoy all the fuss. I’m pregnant with baby number 2 and I think we’ll do the same thing with this one. Whether it’s a Christening, naming day or birthday bash I think it is so nice to have a day dedicated to celebrating the latest addition to the family. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sounds like both were lovely days! We aren’t religious either so had a garden party to celebrate Monkey’s birth 🙂 Thanks for linking with #MaternityMondays

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the pegging up the notes idea, really sweet touch! My children have been christened but I did hold a naming day for my son when he was just 6 weeks old. It had been a high risk pregnancy and he was born 4 weeks early, one of my best friends had also passed away whilst I was pregnant so we wanted to have a special day to welcome my son and celebrate life going on. It was held in my parents beautiful garden and very casual, but it meant so much. Thank you for linking this lovely post with #mummyandus

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’d never heard of this before. I feel like it must have been worth it just for an excuse to dress your tiny baby in a tiny baby suit- so cute! Love the message washing line too.

    #brilliantblogposts

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This sounds lovely. We too are not religious and I did think about having a naming ceremony but we just couldn’t afford it when I was on maternity leave and now he’s nearly three there’s not much point! We did give him a wonderful first birthday party though 🙂 Thanks so much for linking up with #TwinklyTuesday

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh that’s lovely, what a beautiful ceremony too, you are all gorgeous as well. We have name days and christenings in the Greek Orthodox religion, but a name day is celebrated when the saint you are named after has a day and a special cake is made, it’s like having 2 birthdays. Thanks for linking up x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

