Mum Guilt (part 2)

During a visit to the doctors and chemist this morning, I spoke to two other mums and within both short chit-chats they mentioned the word ‘guilt’. I’ve talked about my own guilt many times before, but it was interesting to hear it from someone else.

I prefer a bottle
I prefer a bottle

To put into context, I didn’t bring up this subject. In fact, these two women were my nurse and the pharmacist. The nurse asked if I was breast-feeding before administering me a jab, to which I responded with no, as I’m not very good at it. She then ‘confessed’ that she never was either and ended up bottle feeding both of her two children but she felt so guilty when she decided to switch.

I have explored this topic on bottle vs breast before and got nothing but positive comments from other parents, about how just being happy and healthy is the main thing. So why do we put so much pressure on ourselves still?

Speaking of parental guilt, my second encounter this morning was chin-wagging to the lovely pharmacist at Boots. She was cooing over Baby and I explained how she doesn’t normally get a look in, as her older brother takes the limelight (he was at nursery). We briefly chatted about which nurseries were good in the area before stating ‘you feel guilty with your second, don’t you. Because you can’t spend as much time with them on your own.’ I agreed.

I love having mother and daughter time
I love having mother and daughter time

I wish I had as much time, just me and Baby to give her the same attention to help her develop as quickly as Lil Man did. But the lovely lady at Boots also mentioned how quick her second was at learning everything, mostly from following suit from her eldest.

So I should stop punishing myself, like about our meltdown at the park and think she just has one more person to give them love and attention than her older sibling ever did.

The Twinkle Diaries
Modern Dad Pages
Modern Dad Pages
Reflections From Me
Let's Talk Mommy

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

7 comments

  1. Oh yes that mummy guilt gets us every time, The whole breast vs bottle debate can really make us feel inadequate and we just don’t need to feel bad when we are doing the best we can as mums. It isn’t easy, we really need to be kinder to ourselves and other mums too Great post, thanks for linking it with me #mummyandus

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Please don’t feel guilty. My mummy is constantly beating herself up for not having enough time, patience, energy. You adults need to be gentle with yourselves. Happy mummy equals happy children. I think you are doing a great job! x #Sharewithme #TwinklyTuesday xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think there is so much pressure put on new mums to do everything “right”! By the looks of it you are clearly doing a fab job with both your gorgeous children. Please don’t feel guilty, though I understand how easy it is to do. #brilliantblogposts

    Nadia – ScandiMummy x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think as parents we all feel guilty for a few things we do or did along the way and in the long run get over them and realize they were small minor things in the big world of parenting and the child just needs loved and supported no matter how that is breast, bottle or any other dilemna we feel guilty for. Thank you ever so much for linking up to Share With Me #sharewithme

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

