Why I’m Glad When It Rains

After our escapades at the park on Thursday, I thought it would be wise to stay in yesterday. Torrential rain played a big part in this decision too.

Although the day had got off to a rather early start and broken sleep, things picked up as the day went on.

An early, yet lazy start
An early, yet lazy start

Despite Lil Man always itching to get into the garden, he didn’t seem too bothered about being cooped up and was happy so long as I played with him for a while.

Baby was also a lot happier. Either her teething had subsided for the day, or having mastered a new skill of grasping things, was enough to keep her entertained for hours.

 

Happy in her walker and grasping her toys
Happy in her walker and grasping her toys

In the space of a few hours, I had been a shopkeeper, racing car driver and even a movie director, as we had fun making silly Vine videos together.


I even managed to get an hours shut eye! Yes, a whole hour! My trick? After filling both of the babies bellies, I popped them in the car and drove around the block for about 20 minutes, ensuring they were both gently rocked into a deep, dreamy sleep. As soon as I got back home and laid them both down, I flopped onto the sofa and joined them in the land of nod. Bliss.

Having those extra 40 winks meant I had the energy to play more in the afternoon and do plenty of work on my blog. And because Lil Man was confined to the downstairs, I could an eye on both the kids without worrying one of them would fall down a ditch or be snatched.

By no means am I suggesting that we will never step foot outside again, but every now and then, I’m glad when it rains.

The Dad Network
What Katy Said
My Random Musings
Mummaknows
17 comments

  1. Sounds like you really know how to make the most of the rainy day! Your little ones are lucky to have a multi-talented mom. Race car driving and movie directing all in one day sounds like fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ahh that’s exactly what I do. Drive around and get them to sleep so I can join them. I love the cute little video. Gorgeous. Thanks so much for linking up with #thisweekiveloved

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a great day, my two haven’t enjoyed being stuck inside because of the rain, we had one day of peace and then it was full on warfare 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I like the rain too! No park!! Love the driving round the block idea, my son seems to wake the second I lift him from the car seat though :’-( thanks for linking #famjamlinky

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That video is hilarious!

    I could take a leaf out of your book, I’ve really struggled to entertain my daughter during the rainy days. She’s 15 months old and has the attention span of the gnat. I’m sure it’ll get easier as she gets older.

    #HappyDaysLinky

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh what i would give for a nap!! Sounds like my perfect day, i do love playing like that. Thanks for sharing in #HappyDaysLinky x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

