Gluten and Dairy Free Carrot Cake

Now that I’m getting into my baking more, I thought I’d try something the next step up from Banana Bread. This recipe is still pretty straightforward but its just that there are a couple more steps to making this and more ingredients.

Naturally, I kept it gluten and dairy free. As I have mentioned before, my son has milk and soya allergies as well as (test results pointing to him) potentially developing Celiac in later life. Also, as I am on the long journey of losing the baby weight, having less gluten in my diet will help the width of my hips or at least leave me feeling less bloated.

Finding a recipe that didn’t include pounds of caster sugar and was gluten free, proved more difficult than I thought. So I combined the healthiest options of two different recipes.

WP_20150627_001

The ingredients:

375g Buckwheat flour

1tsp bicarbonate soda

1/2 tsp salt

225g vitalite (or any dairy free margarine)

300g Light Muscovado sugar

150g raisins or sultanas

440g grated carrots

4 eggs

125g chopped walnuts

1 tspn of ground cinnamon

Here’s how you do it:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 C / Gas 4. Sift together the flour, baking powder, bicarb, cinnamon and salt, then set aside.
  2. Chop the walnuts and grate the carrots. Or , if your lazy like me, stick them in a food processor and let the machine do all the hard work. Grease a cake tin or use greaseproof paper if your using a loaf tin (not like me, where is all stuck to the bottom lol).
  3. In a bowl, cream together the marg and sugar. Stir in the eggs and add a squirt of lemon or orange juice. Add the sifted dry ingredients, mix well (again, I was too lazy to do it by hand and ended up using a hand blender to mix it more me.)WP_20150627_002
  4. Finally, fold in the walnuts, raisins and carrots. Pour the cake mixture into the tin.
  5. Bake for 1 hour in the preheated oven, or until a knife comes out clean. Cool in the tin for 10 minutes before popping onto a wire rack.

20150627_141638-01

I purposefully avoided icing, to keep it healthy. I did however, sprinkle some cocoa powder on top and to get my son to eat it I added some sprinkles; which he loved. I served up the carrot cake with tea one afternoon for all my family and received lots of lovely feedback.

2015-06-27 14.23.38

Gym Bunny Mummy
Mami 2 Five
Eat Your Heart Out
8 comments

Leave a Reply

