Sweet Potato Brownie

I am usually crap at baking, mostly because it requires precise measurements and I am just too impatient. I like to chuck a bit of this in, throw a bit of that. I normally think to myself, yea that’s about right, rather than using scales. So I surprised myself by being able to bake these delicious brownies.

Rather yummy
Rather yummy

I found the recipe on Deliciously Ella’s blog and found it easy to follow. To make 10 brownies, all you need is:

– 2 medium to large sweet potatoes (600g)

– 2/3 of a cup of ground almonds (80g)

– 1/2 a cup of buckwheat or brown rice flour (100g)

– 14 medjool dates

– 4 tablespoons of raw cacao

– 3 tablespoons of pure maple syrup

– a pinch of salt

Although, being me I didn’t have all the correct ingredients. I swapped medjool dates for prunes and I forgot to buy maple syrup but did have some pure honey in the cupboard and used that instead.

Honey relieves hayfever
Honey relieves hayfever

They still tasted sweet and delicious, and you have the added goodness of the honey (I read somewhere that if you eat honey produced from pollen in your area it relieves hayfever symptoms).

If I can bake it, then anyone can
If I can bake it, then anyone can

The best part is these are dairy and gluten free, so my son can eat them. Also, they are rich in anti-oxidants so I don’t feel guilty eating them either. I can dish these out to all the family for a healthy treat.

Fun for all the family
Fun for all the family



Modern Dad Pages

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

Gym Bunny Mummy
6 comments

  1. I keep hearing about these, I’m now going to have to have a bash as yours look great and they sound pretty healthy and I can’t keep snacking on my usual cake all the time 🙂 I like that they have no refined sugar in either!
    Yeah I’m pretty bad for weighing things too, I’ve really had to force myself to do it for recipes I add to my blog, its sounds bad saying, ‘just chuck a bit in’ 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooo yum! I haven’t made these yet but do like a ‘healthy’ chocolate brownie! If you fancy other gluten-free and dairy-free recipes then check out my blog…I have lots of freefrom recipes that are simple to make.

    Like

Leave a Reply

