The Invasion of V-tech

How do you stop the enemy that is pre-school toys from invading and settling in your living room? The simple answer is, you can’t. Surrendering is far easier. Allow the noisy, garish and oversized ‘educational’ tools fill every square foot of, what used to be a grown up only zone.

I remember when I was pregnant with my first born, going round friends’ houses who already had kids and thinking ‘well my living room won’t look like this’. Being a self-confessed neat freak and being borderline OCD, seeing the mounds of primary coloured plastic in other people’s homes made me twitch. So before Leon was even born I invested in a number of tasteful storage solutions, thinking I have solved the problem.

WP_20150524_003

Now, a mother of a baby and a toddler, I realise the reality of how difficult it is to keep your adult space. As they get older, at first, the toys get bigger and noisier. So I have not only filled all the toy boxes and other nifty storage solutions, but taken to hiding crap down the side of the sofa.

WP_20150524_001

Trust me you can’t see it from seating on the sofa.

WP_20150524_002

I cherish the day I can go to bed without having to cram all this shit into boxes and don’t have the songs of talking cars spinning around in my head.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t wish to deprive my children of fun and games. For example, we forked out a small fortune on a garden playhouse for a certain someone’s second birthday with the added bonus of being able to hide more kids crap and out of the grown up zone.

IMG_8842 WP_20150522_005

I know as they grow up, the toys will become smaller and more technology based. But then I will moan about how bloody expensive they are. Can’t win them all.

TOTS100 - UK Parent Blogs

Mums' Days


2 comments

  1. Ha Ha! This is so cool. I Have some nifty places to hide the toys around our house too! It is nice to clear things away once in a while and feel like your in an adult space once again. Angela x

    Angela recently posted Procrastination A Bloggers Worst Enemy http://wp.me/p5XRN6-1b0

    Like

Leave a Reply

